Links

How task assignment works

What is a task?

A task is either a single image, series, or entire study that moves through the annotation workflow in a single unit. The intention is for a labeler to view and annotate a single task together; therefore, if you'd like your annotators to view & annotate an entire MRI study comprised of 4 series together, you should upload the entire study as a single task.
Please read the data import documentation to understand how to import data as a single image/series/entire study task.

Task Assignment

Task assignment helps manage the delegation of work amongst your entire team. RedBrick AI has automatic task assignment protocols, but you can override these with manual/programmatic task assignment as well.
Labelers can only view tasks that are assigned to them. Admins can view all tasks but only modify tasks assigned to them.

Automatic Task Assignment

All projects use automatic task assignment by default. The automatic task assignment protocol is a first-come-first-serve system that assigns the oldest data to the annotators that request new tasks first.
Annotators request for new tasks by keeping the labeling tool open or clicking on Label/Review on the project dashboard. If a user becomes inactive for extended periods of time, their automatically assigned tasks will be assigned to other users who are active.
You can disable automatic task assignment from Project Settings -> Overview.

Manual Assignment

You can override the automatic assignment protocol by manually assigning tasks to users from the Data page.
RedBrick AI will not automatically re-assign tasks that you have manually assigned.

Programmatically assigning tasks

You can programmatically assign tasks using our SDK or prescribe the assignment during data upload as part of your items file.

Prescribe assignment on upload

You can use preAssign the field in the items file to define which user will be assigned the task at each stage. For example, the snippet below will assign study01 to [email protected] in the Label stage. Once the annotation is complete, and the task is queued in Review_1, [email protected] will be assigned as the Reviewer.
Ensure to correctly input the stage names, i.e., Label, Review_1, etc. Also, make sure to input the users' emails correctly. They must be a member of the project.
[
{
"name": "study01",
"preAssign": {
"Label": "[email protected]",
"Review_1": "[email protected]"
},
"series": [
{
"items": "file.nii.gz",
}
]
}
]

Assign tasks using the SDK

Please visit our SDK documentation for an overview of programmatically assigning tasks.

Labeling Queue

Once a task is assigned to a user, it is added to their Labeling Queue. You can view your labeling queue in two ways.
  1. 1.
    From the data page: On the data page, you can filter by queued for labeling/review and then filter by tasks assigned to you.
  2. 2.
    On the Labeling Tool: The labeling queue is available on the top bar of the labeling tool.
While in your Queue, the task can be in a few different states, depending on the status of the annotation:
  1. 1.
    Assigned Tasks that you have not worked on yet will be displayed as Assigned.
  2. 2.
    Saved Once you save your in-progress annotation (either manually or through auto-save), the task will show as saved.
  3. 3.
    Pending Finalization Once you are done with the annotation, you can Submit the draft. All drafts that have been submitted will still be in your labeling queue pending finalization. You must finalize the draft to complete it and send it to the next stage of the workflow.
  4. 4.
    Skipped Skipped tasks are intended to come back to in the future. If you encounter a task you don't want to complete, you can skip it, and it will be sent to the end of your labeling queue.
The diagram below is a guide to completing tasks in your labeling queue, including the actions and states of tasks.
Guide to submitting tasks in your labeling queue